Men at Work

Image

Men at WorkThis portrait was part of a series I did for the Southern Union Gas Company’s annual report.  They were featuring all the great people that worked for them as the part of the reasons for their great service to their customers.

I was supposed to walk all around their facilities accompanied by the company’s representative. I was a bit apprehensive about this approach because we were catching people completely by surprise and I was a little afraid of how they would react.  Fortunately, everyone I approached in all the different departments was extremely gracious and felt honored to be included in this prestigious company document.

This was one of my favorite images from the series. It was a blistering 103 degree South Texas Day with humidity in the 70% range. Yet these two guys gave me their all. What troupers!

I found these huge coils of bright yellow plastic tubing piled up very high and thought what a great background to play against their blue shirts. The sun was behind the tubing so when I positioned my subjects in front they got a little shade. Me, on the other hand was standing in the full sun. Tell me again why I don’t like the winters of Michigan. I sure could have used some right then. I was using a Nikon digital camera with a 70-200 mm lens.

There is nothing sweeter than pulling off a difficult shot.

Leave a comment