Man

Image

Man

I love faces. When I happen upon a face that I think would make a terrific photograph I always approach that person and ask if they would mind if I took a few photographs.

This fellow was doing some repair work to the building my studio is in. I immediately noticed he had one of those great photographic faces. I asked if I could take some photographs of him. He was a little reluctant at first but after assuring him his image would never be used in an inappropriate manner he agreed. I took several photographs of him around his truck. This turned out to be my favorite.

I printed both in Color and B&W, and the B&W won out for me: I found that the B&W version really brings out the character in his face.

I want to encourage everyone who loves taking photographs to get involved with a couple of image editing programs. My favorites are Adobe Camera Raw, Lightroom and Photoshop. These days this is our darkroom and if you hope to create images that you truly enjoy, a knowledge of what can be done on the compute, as well as how to do it are vitally important. It’s also a lot of fun to watch how an image out of your camera can transform and take on a life of its own as you apply your own artistic vision.

Leave a comment